AeroAstro Banner


Aero/Astro Senior Research Engineer Todd Walter is completing his two-year term as president of the ION Council. The Council acts as the board of directors for ION, the Institute of Navigation.

ION describes itself as the world's leading professional organization for the advancement of positioning, navigation, and timing. Founded in 1945, its worldwide membership draws those interested in air, space, and marine navigation as well as position determination.

Dr. Walter has played a key role in ION over the years, including Western Regional Vice President and serving as program chair and then general chair of ION'S Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) conference, attended by about 2,000 professionals from around the world.

At Stanford, Dr. Walter works in the GPS lab. His research focuses on monitoring the integrity of GNSS satellite signals. Many of the methods that he has developed have been implemented in the Wide Area Augmentation System (WAAS) of the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). WAAS now serves nearly 4,000 approach procedures in the United States, far more than any other navigation system. In particular, Dr. Walter's research has emphasized monitoring the ionosphere to ensure that its effects cannot cause erroneous position estimates at the aircraft. Dr. Walter continues to work with the FAA on improving WAAS performance.

For his work, Dr. Walter has received two prestigious awards from ION. In 2008, he received the Thurlow Award from ION's Institute of Navigation in recognition of outstanding contributions to the science of navigation. He is the fourth person from Stanford Aero/Astro to win the Thurlow Award, joining Prof. Per Enge (1996), head of the GPS lab, and Emeriti Profs. Brad Parkinson (1986) and Dan DeBra (1982). In 2010, he received the Kepler Award from ION's Satellite Division for his "contributions to space-based augmentation systems and the education of the next generation of navigation engineers." Previous Stanford Aero/Astro recipients of this award were Profs. Enge (2000) and Parkinson (1991).

Dr. Walter received his B.S. in Physics from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Applied Physics from Stanford.

Aero/Astro news

Prof. Jameson wins Guggenheim Medal to crown extraordinary year of recognition

Prof. Farhat and his research lab team with U.S. Army to set computational record

Prof. Vincenti remembers undergraduate life at Stanford in the 30's

Prof. Chang leads efforts in structural health monitoring

Prof. Farhat flies with the Blue Angels

Prof. Hubbard sees NASA's selection of Boeing and SpaceX to develop vehicles to the space station as a major milestone

Prof. Alonso's UAV class flies search and rescue missions on campus

Stanford and Saudi scientists launch collaboration on aerospace research

Prof. Pavone and Rick Zhang develop systems to manage fleets of robo-cars

Prof. Chang helps set SHM standards for new planes

Prof. Alonso, Francisco Palacios, and Trent Lukaczyk on team that wins NASA Technology and Innovation Award

Prof. Pavone hosts NASA NIAC symposium at Stanford

A/A students Robbie Karol and David Gerson on Stanford team going on NASA zero-gravity experiment

Prof. Close wins Presidential Early Career Award

Simone D'Amico appointed to A/A Faculty

Mykel Kochenderfer appointed to A/A Faculty

A/A student Ved Chirayath's new technology produces high-resolution mapping of coral reefs

A/A Department thrives

Students design unmanned aerial vehicles in Prof. Alonso's class

Prof. Christensen awarded Timoshenko Medal by ASME

"Space dust" likely cause of some falling satellites, Prof. Close finds

Research team sets calculation record with jet engine noise simulation

Prof. Pavone's lab and researchers at JPL/Caltech and MIT developing autonomous acrobatic space rovers

Todd Walter finishing term as president of ION Council

ARL and MBARI work to explore the ocean depths

Prof. Enge named to Coffman Professorship

Profs. Pavone and Senesky win NASA Early Career Awards

Debbie Senesky appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Parkinson named Stanford Engineering Hero

Marco Pavone appointed to A/A Faculty

ADL develops open-source software for fluid dynamic analysis and design

A/A Ph.D. student Noël Bakhtian named 2011 Boeing Engineering Student of the Year

Prof. Farhat Receives ASME Award

Space debris a big problem, says Prof. Close in NRC report

Jay Subramanian wins Kay Bradley Award

Prof. Close co-hosts show on National Geographic TV channel

Prof. Farhat and David Amsallem put a damper on "aeroelastic flutter"

Consulting Prof. Hubbard appointed to NASA's Science Committee

A/A green tech research on paraffin-fueled hybrid rockets

Consulting Prof. Kalman describes his path to the Space Systems Dev. Lab

A/A students fly in zero gravity to protect satellites from tiny meteoroids

NRC ranks Stanford Aero/Astro among U.S. best

Rocket science may make wastewater treatment sustainable

Grace Gao wins Jackson Award from RTCA

Sigrid Close appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Tsai voted SAMPE Fellow

Prof. Chang selected for 2010 SPIE NDE Lifetime Achievement Award

A/A students claim altitude record for tiny, autonomous plane

A/A students' idea for formation flying earns finalist spot in competition in France

Prof. Bryson awarded 2009 Guggenheim Medal

Aero/Astro alumnus Michael Hopkins (MS '92) one of nine new astronauts

Public Radio spotlights Aero/Astro's CubeSats mini-satellite program