AeroAstro Banner

Consulting Prof. Scott Hubbard Appointed to NASA's Science Committee

Consulting Professor Scott Hubbard has received a two-year appointment to the Science Committee of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Advisory Council. The scope of the Science Committee includes all NASA Earth and space science-related programs, projects, activities, and facilities. The committee has special interests in astrophysics, earth science, heliophysics, planetary protection, and planetary science.

Prof. Hubbard said that he was honored to be invited to serve on this important committee at such a critical time in NASA's evolution. Budgetary pressures will require the committee to look carefully at proposed science missions and their costs. He expects that as an at-large member of the committee he will be drawing on his more than 35 years of experience in science, engineering, space-related research, and successful management of large programs.

Prof. Hubbard's career includes twenty years with NASA that culminated as director of NASA's Ames Research Center here in Silicon Valley. He was NASA's first Mars program director, successfully restructured the entire Mars program, and conceived the Mars Pathfinder mission. He was also the founder of NASA's Astrobiology Institute and the manager for NASA's Lunar Prospector mission.

In Stanford's Aero/Astro Department, Prof. Hubbard's interests include the human and robotic exploration of space with an emphasis on new mission concepts and advanced technology. The current focus of his research group is on robotic Mars exploration, particularly the proposed Mars Sample Return Campaign. Recently, Prof. Hubbard and a Stanford-led team were selected to be part of a Center of Excellence for Commercial Space Transportation, a research program for the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA).

Aero/Astro news

Prof. Jameson wins Guggenheim Medal to crown extraordinary year of recognition

Prof. Farhat and his research lab team with U.S. Army to set computational record

Prof. Vincenti remembers undergraduate life at Stanford in the 30's

Prof. Chang leads efforts in structural health monitoring

Prof. Farhat flies with the Blue Angels

Prof. Hubbard sees NASA's selection of Boeing and SpaceX to develop vehicles to the space station as a major milestone

Prof. Alonso's UAV class flies search and rescue missions on campus

Stanford and Saudi scientists launch collaboration on aerospace research

Prof. Pavone and Rick Zhang develop systems to manage fleets of robo-cars

Prof. Chang helps set SHM standards for new planes

Prof. Alonso, Francisco Palacios, and Trent Lukaczyk on team that wins NASA Technology and Innovation Award

Prof. Pavone hosts NASA NIAC symposium at Stanford

A/A students Robbie Karol and David Gerson on Stanford team going on NASA zero-gravity experiment

Prof. Close wins Presidential Early Career Award

Simone D'Amico appointed to A/A Faculty

Mykel Kochenderfer appointed to A/A Faculty

A/A student Ved Chirayath's new technology produces high-resolution mapping of coral reefs

A/A Department thrives

Students design unmanned aerial vehicles in Prof. Alonso's class

Prof. Christensen awarded Timoshenko Medal by ASME

"Space dust" likely cause of some falling satellites, Prof. Close finds

Research team sets calculation record with jet engine noise simulation

Prof. Pavone's lab and researchers at JPL/Caltech and MIT developing autonomous acrobatic space rovers

Todd Walter finishing term as president of ION Council

ARL and MBARI work to explore the ocean depths

Prof. Enge named to Coffman Professorship

Profs. Pavone and Senesky win NASA Early Career Awards

Debbie Senesky appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Parkinson named Stanford Engineering Hero

Marco Pavone appointed to A/A Faculty

ADL develops open-source software for fluid dynamic analysis and design

A/A Ph.D. student Noël Bakhtian named 2011 Boeing Engineering Student of the Year

Prof. Farhat Receives ASME Award

Space debris a big problem, says Prof. Close in NRC report

Jay Subramanian wins Kay Bradley Award

Prof. Close co-hosts show on National Geographic TV channel

Prof. Farhat and David Amsallem put a damper on "aeroelastic flutter"

Consulting Prof. Hubbard appointed to NASA's Science Committee

A/A green tech research on paraffin-fueled hybrid rockets

Consulting Prof. Kalman describes his path to the Space Systems Dev. Lab

A/A students fly in zero gravity to protect satellites from tiny meteoroids

NRC ranks Stanford Aero/Astro among U.S. best

Rocket science may make wastewater treatment sustainable

Grace Gao wins Jackson Award from RTCA

Sigrid Close appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Tsai voted SAMPE Fellow

Prof. Chang selected for 2010 SPIE NDE Lifetime Achievement Award

A/A students claim altitude record for tiny, autonomous plane

A/A students' idea for formation flying earns finalist spot in competition in France

Prof. Bryson awarded 2009 Guggenheim Medal

Aero/Astro alumnus Michael Hopkins (MS '92) one of nine new astronauts

Public Radio spotlights Aero/Astro's CubeSats mini-satellite program