AeroAstro Banner

Grace Gao Wins Jackson Award

Dr. Grace Xingxin Gao, a research associate in Stanford Aero/Astro's GPS Lab, has won the 2009 William E. Jackson Award from RTCA, the Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics. Her Ph.D. thesis, "Towards Navigation Based on 120 Satellites: Analyzing New Signals," marked her as the outstanding graduate student in the field of electronics and telecommunications. The award was presented in April, 2010, at the RTCA's Spring Symposium in Washington, D.C.

Dr. Gao's thesis was based on her research in the GPS Lab. She analyzed the civilian signals from two of the new Global Navigation Satellite Systems: Europe's Galileo and China's Compass. She was the first to derive the code generators used by the civilian signals on the Galileo validation satellites and by the first Compass satellite in medium earth orbit. She analyzed the suitability of these new signals for aviation and treated the worrisome satellite-to-satellite and DME-to-satellite interference problems. Her work has advanced the use of these new signals for civilian aviation by enabling worldwide precision approaches even in airports with limited infrastructure.

Dr. Gao received her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford in 2008. It is common for students in one department in Stanford's School of Engineering to work with professors and their labs in other departments.

RTCA is a private, not-for-profit corporation that develops consensus-based recommendations for communications, navigation, surveillance, and air traffic management issues. These are used by the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) as the basis for policy, program, and regulatory decisions and by the private sector as the basis for development, investment, and other business decisions. RTCA includes about 400 government, industry, and academic organizations from around the world.

The Jackson Award is a memorial to William E. Jackson, a pioneer in the development and implementation of the nation's air traffic control system and an enthusiastic supporter of student engineers.

Dr. Gao is the sixth member of the Stanford GPS lab to win the Jackson Award. Dr. Alexander Mitleman won in 2005 for "Signal Quality Monitoring for GPS Augmentation Systems." The year before, Dr. Chad Jennings received the award for "Threat Displays for Final Approach." Dr. Robert Eric Phelts won in 2001 for "Multi-Correlator Techniques for Robust Mitigation of Threats to GPS Signal Quality." Other recipients were Dr. Boris Pervan in 1996 for "Navigation Integrity for Aircraft Precision Landing Using the Global Positioning System" and Dr. Clark E. Cohen in 1993 for "Attitude Determination Using GPS."

Aero/Astro news

Prof. Jameson wins Guggenheim Medal to crown extraordinary year of recognition

Prof. Farhat and his research lab team with U.S. Army to set computational record

Prof. Vincenti remembers undergraduate life at Stanford in the 30's

Prof. Chang leads efforts in structural health monitoring

Prof. Farhat flies with the Blue Angels

Prof. Hubbard sees NASA's selection of Boeing and SpaceX to develop vehicles to the space station as a major milestone

Prof. Alonso's UAV class flies search and rescue missions on campus

Stanford and Saudi scientists launch collaboration on aerospace research

Prof. Pavone and Rick Zhang develop systems to manage fleets of robo-cars

Prof. Chang helps set SHM standards for new planes

Prof. Alonso, Francisco Palacios, and Trent Lukaczyk on team that wins NASA Technology and Innovation Award

Prof. Pavone hosts NASA NIAC symposium at Stanford

A/A students Robbie Karol and David Gerson on Stanford team going on NASA zero-gravity experiment

Prof. Close wins Presidential Early Career Award

Simone D'Amico appointed to A/A Faculty

Mykel Kochenderfer appointed to A/A Faculty

A/A student Ved Chirayath's new technology produces high-resolution mapping of coral reefs

A/A Department thrives

Students design unmanned aerial vehicles in Prof. Alonso's class

Prof. Christensen awarded Timoshenko Medal by ASME

"Space dust" likely cause of some falling satellites, Prof. Close finds

Research team sets calculation record with jet engine noise simulation

Prof. Pavone's lab and researchers at JPL/Caltech and MIT developing autonomous acrobatic space rovers

Todd Walter finishing term as president of ION Council

ARL and MBARI work to explore the ocean depths

Prof. Enge named to Coffman Professorship

Profs. Pavone and Senesky win NASA Early Career Awards

Debbie Senesky appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Parkinson named Stanford Engineering Hero

Marco Pavone appointed to A/A Faculty

ADL develops open-source software for fluid dynamic analysis and design

A/A Ph.D. student Noël Bakhtian named 2011 Boeing Engineering Student of the Year

Prof. Farhat Receives ASME Award

Space debris a big problem, says Prof. Close in NRC report

Jay Subramanian wins Kay Bradley Award

Prof. Close co-hosts show on National Geographic TV channel

Prof. Farhat and David Amsallem put a damper on "aeroelastic flutter"

Consulting Prof. Hubbard appointed to NASA's Science Committee

A/A green tech research on paraffin-fueled hybrid rockets

Consulting Prof. Kalman describes his path to the Space Systems Dev. Lab

A/A students fly in zero gravity to protect satellites from tiny meteoroids

NRC ranks Stanford Aero/Astro among U.S. best

Rocket science may make wastewater treatment sustainable

Grace Gao wins Jackson Award from RTCA

Sigrid Close appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Tsai voted SAMPE Fellow

Prof. Chang selected for 2010 SPIE NDE Lifetime Achievement Award

A/A students claim altitude record for tiny, autonomous plane

A/A students' idea for formation flying earns finalist spot in competition in France

Prof. Bryson awarded 2009 Guggenheim Medal

Aero/Astro alumnus Michael Hopkins (MS '92) one of nine new astronauts

Public Radio spotlights Aero/Astro's CubeSats mini-satellite program