AeroAstro Banner

Prof. Per Enge Named to Coffman Professorship

Aero/Astro Professor Per Enge has been appointed the Vance D. and Arlene C. Coffman Professorship in the School of Engineering. This professorship was established by Stanford Aero/Astro alumnus Vance Coffman (M.S. '69, Ph.D. '74), former CEO of Lockheed Martin. It is the donors' preference that the chair be held by a faculty member in aeronautics and astronautics.

Prof. Enge has been at Stanford since 1993. He is also the director of the Center for Position, Navigation, and Time (CPNT) at Stanford and the former holder of the Kleiner Perkins, Mayfield, Sequoia Capital Professorship in the School of Engineering. All of his degrees are in electrical engineering: a B.S. in 1975 from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst; and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, in 1979 and 1983, respectively.

Prof. Enge's research focuses on the design of navigation systems that satisfy stringent requirements with respect to accuracy, integrity (truthfulness), time availability, and continuity in order to detect, flag, and compensate for any faults. Applications of his current research include the landing of airplanes and harbor navigation, which are usually based on the Global Positioning System (GPS) and its augmentations.

A textbook author and holder of a dozen patents, Prof. Enge is a former president of the Institute of Navigation; a member of the government's advisory board on National Space-Based Positioning, Navigation, and Timing; a member of the National Academy of Engineers; and a fellow of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institute of Navigation (ION). He has also received the ION's Kepler, Burka, and Thurlow Awards, as well as served as that organization's president. Recently he was inducted into the Air Force GPS Hall of Fame, received the 2011 Summerfield Award fom the AIAA for the best book that they published that year, and received the 2010 Michael Richey Award for the best article in the journal of the Royal Institute of Navigation.

In making the announcement, School of Engineering Dean James Plummer said that, even in an entire school of outstanding educators and researchers, Prof. Enge has distinguished himself as an outstanding teacher, researcher, and colleague.

Aero/Astro news

Prof. Jameson wins Guggenheim Medal to crown extraordinary year of recognition

Prof. Farhat and his research lab team with U.S. Army to set computational record

Prof. Vincenti remembers undergraduate life at Stanford in the 30's

Prof. Chang leads efforts in structural health monitoring

Prof. Farhat flies with the Blue Angels

Prof. Hubbard sees NASA's selection of Boeing and SpaceX to develop vehicles to the space station as a major milestone

Prof. Alonso's UAV class flies search and rescue missions on campus

Stanford and Saudi scientists launch collaboration on aerospace research

Prof. Pavone and Rick Zhang develop systems to manage fleets of robo-cars

Prof. Chang helps set SHM standards for new planes

Prof. Alonso, Francisco Palacios, and Trent Lukaczyk on team that wins NASA Technology and Innovation Award

Prof. Pavone hosts NASA NIAC symposium at Stanford

A/A students Robbie Karol and David Gerson on Stanford team going on NASA zero-gravity experiment

Prof. Close wins Presidential Early Career Award

Simone D'Amico appointed to A/A Faculty

Mykel Kochenderfer appointed to A/A Faculty

A/A student Ved Chirayath's new technology produces high-resolution mapping of coral reefs

A/A Department thrives

Students design unmanned aerial vehicles in Prof. Alonso's class

Prof. Christensen awarded Timoshenko Medal by ASME

"Space dust" likely cause of some falling satellites, Prof. Close finds

Research team sets calculation record with jet engine noise simulation

Prof. Pavone's lab and researchers at JPL/Caltech and MIT developing autonomous acrobatic space rovers

Todd Walter finishing term as president of ION Council

ARL and MBARI work to explore the ocean depths

Prof. Enge named to Coffman Professorship

Profs. Pavone and Senesky win NASA Early Career Awards

Debbie Senesky appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Parkinson named Stanford Engineering Hero

Marco Pavone appointed to A/A Faculty

ADL develops open-source software for fluid dynamic analysis and design

A/A Ph.D. student Noël Bakhtian named 2011 Boeing Engineering Student of the Year

Prof. Farhat Receives ASME Award

Space debris a big problem, says Prof. Close in NRC report

Jay Subramanian wins Kay Bradley Award

Prof. Close co-hosts show on National Geographic TV channel

Prof. Farhat and David Amsallem put a damper on "aeroelastic flutter"

Consulting Prof. Hubbard appointed to NASA's Science Committee

A/A green tech research on paraffin-fueled hybrid rockets

Consulting Prof. Kalman describes his path to the Space Systems Dev. Lab

A/A students fly in zero gravity to protect satellites from tiny meteoroids

NRC ranks Stanford Aero/Astro among U.S. best

Rocket science may make wastewater treatment sustainable

Grace Gao wins Jackson Award from RTCA

Sigrid Close appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Tsai voted SAMPE Fellow

Prof. Chang selected for 2010 SPIE NDE Lifetime Achievement Award

A/A students claim altitude record for tiny, autonomous plane

A/A students' idea for formation flying earns finalist spot in competition in France

Prof. Bryson awarded 2009 Guggenheim Medal

Aero/Astro alumnus Michael Hopkins (MS '92) one of nine new astronauts

Public Radio spotlights Aero/Astro's CubeSats mini-satellite program