AeroAstro Banner

Richard Christensen awarded Timoshenko Medal by ASME

Aero/Astro and Mechanical Engineering Emeritus Research Professor Richard Christensen has been selected as the 2013 recipient of the Timoshenko Medal by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). This award is one of the highest honors in the field of applied mechanics.

Prof. Christensen was cited for his "numerous distinguished contributions to applied mechanics, including the theory of heterogeneous solids, composite materials and laminated plates; the geometry of ultra low density materials; the viscoelasticity and rheology of polymers and non-Newtonian fluids; and the failure of isotropic and anisotropic materials."

Besides numerous single-author journal articles, Prof. Christensen has written books on viscoelasticity and composite materials. His most recent book is The Theory of Materials Failure (Oxford University Press, 2013). He has worked in industry for General Dynamics, Space Technology Laboratories, and Shell Development. He became a half-time research professor in Stanford's Aero/Astro and Mechanical Engineering Departments in 1996, while spending the other half of his time working at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. Even after becoming emeritus, he has continued an active role at Stanford, advising students and serving on departmental committees.

Prof. Christensen received his B.S. in Civil Engineering from the University of Utah and his M.Eng. and D.Eng. degrees in Engineering Mechanics from Yale University.

The Timoshenko Medal has been awarded each year since 1957. It is named for its first recipient: Stephen Timoshenko. Timoshenko's textbooks, written in Russian and later in English, were translated into 36 languages. Born in 1878, he moved to the United States in 1922. He became a professor at the University of Michigan in 1927 and moved to Stanford in 1936 where he attracted some outstanding students. Among them was Nicholas Hoff, who received his Ph.D. degree in 1942. Hoff returned to Stanford as a professor fifteen years later after he was assured that he would be the first chairman of the new Department of Aeronautics.

Aero/Astro news

Prof. Jameson wins Guggenheim Medal to crown extraordinary year of recognition

Prof. Farhat and his research lab team with U.S. Army to set computational record

Prof. Vincenti remembers undergraduate life at Stanford in the 30's

Prof. Chang leads efforts in structural health monitoring

Prof. Farhat flies with the Blue Angels

Prof. Hubbard sees NASA's selection of Boeing and SpaceX to develop vehicles to the space station as a major milestone

Prof. Alonso's UAV class flies search and rescue missions on campus

Stanford and Saudi scientists launch collaboration on aerospace research

Prof. Pavone and Rick Zhang develop systems to manage fleets of robo-cars

Prof. Chang helps set SHM standards for new planes

Prof. Alonso, Francisco Palacios, and Trent Lukaczyk on team that wins NASA Technology and Innovation Award

Prof. Pavone hosts NASA NIAC symposium at Stanford

A/A students Robbie Karol and David Gerson on Stanford team going on NASA zero-gravity experiment

Prof. Close wins Presidential Early Career Award

Simone D'Amico appointed to A/A Faculty

Mykel Kochenderfer appointed to A/A Faculty

A/A student Ved Chirayath's new technology produces high-resolution mapping of coral reefs

A/A Department thrives

Students design unmanned aerial vehicles in Prof. Alonso's class

Prof. Christensen awarded Timoshenko Medal by ASME

"Space dust" likely cause of some falling satellites, Prof. Close finds

Research team sets calculation record with jet engine noise simulation

Prof. Pavone's lab and researchers at JPL/Caltech and MIT developing autonomous acrobatic space rovers

Todd Walter finishing term as president of ION Council

ARL and MBARI work to explore the ocean depths

Prof. Enge named to Coffman Professorship

Profs. Pavone and Senesky win NASA Early Career Awards

Debbie Senesky appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Parkinson named Stanford Engineering Hero

Marco Pavone appointed to A/A Faculty

ADL develops open-source software for fluid dynamic analysis and design

A/A Ph.D. student Noël Bakhtian named 2011 Boeing Engineering Student of the Year

Prof. Farhat Receives ASME Award

Space debris a big problem, says Prof. Close in NRC report

Jay Subramanian wins Kay Bradley Award

Prof. Close co-hosts show on National Geographic TV channel

Prof. Farhat and David Amsallem put a damper on "aeroelastic flutter"

Consulting Prof. Hubbard appointed to NASA's Science Committee

A/A green tech research on paraffin-fueled hybrid rockets

Consulting Prof. Kalman describes his path to the Space Systems Dev. Lab

A/A students fly in zero gravity to protect satellites from tiny meteoroids

NRC ranks Stanford Aero/Astro among U.S. best

Rocket science may make wastewater treatment sustainable

Grace Gao wins Jackson Award from RTCA

Sigrid Close appointed to A/A Faculty

Prof. Tsai voted SAMPE Fellow

Prof. Chang selected for 2010 SPIE NDE Lifetime Achievement Award

A/A students claim altitude record for tiny, autonomous plane

A/A students' idea for formation flying earns finalist spot in competition in France

Prof. Bryson awarded 2009 Guggenheim Medal

Aero/Astro alumnus Michael Hopkins (MS '92) one of nine new astronauts

Public Radio spotlights Aero/Astro's CubeSats mini-satellite program